I define myself

Today I claim my blackness

tomorrow I may claim my whiteness

I choose who I am.

Who are you

to dare define my identity

deny my authenticity

of a black person?

 

When we expect

dissect

deflect

inspect

circumspect

disrespect

Another

sister

brother

stranger

digging

judging

speculating

you begin to show

your inferiority

your minority

claiming superiority

of real blackness

in artificial neatness

superficiality becomes inequity

and iniquity.

BAW (c) 2012

Leave a comment

No comments yet.

Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

